Playella | On Reflection by Karen Jeynes

Tarryn is in the bathroom doing her make up. There’s a knock at the door.

BEN: (Offstage) You decent? I need to brush my teeth.

Tarryn checks herself in the mirror intently but keeps her voice casual

TARRYN: Yeah

Ben enters, dressed to kill. He grabs his electric toothbrush, not noticing Tarryn move aside for him. She stands watching him in the mirror.

BEN: Sorry to barge in like this, I lost track of time, and I want everything to be perfect tonight.

Tarryn realises she isn’t doing anything and grabs her mascara, while Ben starts brushing.

TARRYN: What’s the occasion?

BEN: (mouth full of toothbrush) I’m taking Holly out for dinner

TARRYN: Oh, that sounds –

Ben spits

BEN: And then I’m going to ask her to marry me.

Tarryn jabs herself in the eye with the mascara

TARRYN: Ow! Oh, oh, gosh, I mean, wow. That’s great.

Ben is checking himself in the mirror, and notices Tarryn tear up a little. He turns to her.

BEN: Is everything okay?

TARRYN: Yes! Of course. I just, you know, mascaraed myself in the eye, clumsy ol’ Tarryn, haha…that’s really wonderful Ben. I’m so happy for you guys. Guess I’ll have to start looking for a new roommate!

Ben’s face changes, as though the penny has dropped.

BEN: Ohhh, yes, of course I was going to talk to you about that, but it won’t be for at least a year. Don’t worry Tazza, I’ll find you someone perfect!

He kisses her cheek and dashes out. She touches her cheek gently.

TARRYN: You’re perfect.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Playella Project | Week Six | Boy/Girl (Pt 2) | Descent

  2. Pingback: Playella Project | CeleBrits

Leave a Reply

