Playella | Hooked by Daisy Watford

Emma (20) and her mother Jackie (48) are sat at a table. Emma is studying whilst Jackie, with lots of unopened textbooks around her, stares at a laptop.

JACKIE: Did you see what Sarah is doing?

EMMA: Sarah who mum?

JACKIE: You know Sarah. Ruby’s friend.

EMMA: Mum you’re supposed to be doing your essay not sitting on Facebook!

JACKIE: Yeah I’m only having a little break. Oh my god, Kelly is seeing Michael Buble! Lucky thing.

EMMA: Kelly who?

JACKIE: You know Kelly. You’ve got her as a friend on here too.

EMMA: Have I? Oh I don’t know. I hardly go on it.

Pause.

JACKIE: I can’t do this essay. I give up.

—–

Playellas are Descent’s series of tiny plays for your new writing quick fix.
Would you like your mini masterpiece to be featured on our blog? Find out how.

Leave a Reply

