Playella | Flying by Ian Kendall

Playellas are Descent’s series of tiny plays for your new writing quick fix.

Flying

Flying by Ian Kendall

Two men with closed paracute packs strapped to their backs suspended horizontally above the stage. Beneath fans blowing upward to give the impression of downward movement.

Opens with the two men’s arms and legs spread-eagled. Tom has a concerned look on his face, Sam is smiling. Nothing for a moment. Sam gives the thumbs up to Tom. Tom forces a smile and looks at his watch, but sam grabs Tom’s wrist to hide it, then takes his other wrist. Tom is aghast.

SAM: Carpe diem Tom…! We’re flying!

TOM: Okay! Okay…! (beat) Let me pull the cord…

Pause. Tom tries to shake off Sam’s hold, but without success. Sam laughs. Sam does not release Tom’s wrists.

Fuck off Sam, let me go…!

SAM: I want to Tom, I really do.

TOM: You’ll kill us both! We must’ve been falling for more than a minute…

SAM: D’you think so…? Told you we were flying…

Pause.

TOM: Right Sam, we’re flying… So you can let me go now.

SAM: If I let you go you’d pull the cord and spoil it…

TOM: No… if you let me go I could flap my wings and fly some more…

SAM: Promise you won’t spoil it… Promise. (beat) Wings?

TOM: Arms… wings, what does it matter? I want to fly…

Sam does not let go.

Come on let go, carpe diem Sam! (pause) Okay… I promise, cross my heart and hope to…

Blackout. 

—–

Ian’s play Semi-Detached will be performed as part of Descent Shorts on the 7th February at the Cockpit Theatre in Marylebone. More info

Illustration by Viet Tran.

Would you like your mini masterpiece to be featured on our blog? Find out how.

Leave a Reply

